23 March 2017 last updated at 13:18 GMT
Warner to captain Sydney Thunder
Friday 29 July 2011

Attacking opening batsman David Warner will captain Sydney Thunder in the Big Bash League, which was launched in Sydney on Wednesday night. The captains of the eight teams in the new tournament have been unveiled, along with the fixture, with the competition set to begin on December 16 when the Sydney Sixers host the Brisbane Heat at the SCG.

"Captaincy is new for myself and hopefully I will bring a bit to the table. I have had experience in captaining my grade side for the last year and a half. This is a fantastic opportunity for myself and a big responsibility on my shoulders. I've played 100 Twenty20 games, so it's one of those things where I feel I'm experienced enough to take on the role and I've learnt a lot from previous captains," Warner told AAP.

Brad Haddin will lead the Sixers, James Hopes the Heat, Tim Paine the Hobart Hurricanes, Michael Klinger the Adelaide Strikers and Marcus North the Perth Scorchers. In Melbourne, the MCG-based Stars will be captained by Victoria's skipper, Cameron White. Their cross-town rivals, the Renegades, will play out of the Docklands under Andrew McDonald.

Each team will play seven matches in the preliminary stages of the tournament, before semi-finals on January 21 and 22, and the final on January 28.

Cash-rich, yet SCA sought IPL funds
CoA has mentioned that SCA which has in excess of Rs 250 crore in their bank account sought funds to conduct upcoming IPL matches
CoA issues clarification on membership
The Committee of Administrators (COA) have clarified about false reports on the selection of BCCI full members