Virat highest paid in the IPL

Our Bureau



Virat Kohli

Calcutta: India Test captain Virat Kohli is the highest-paid cricketer in the Indian Premier League (IPL), according to the salary figures released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Friday.

Kohli's actual salary with the Royal Challengers Bangalore was listed as Rs 15 crore, while the purse deduction amount from the franchise was Rs 12.5 crore in the list put up by the BCCI on its website.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, for long believed to be the most expensive IPL cricketer, will be paid Rs 12.5 crore, which is the same as his purse deduction by the Pune franchise.

The RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group-owned Pune franchise bought Dhoni in a draft of players who were part of the suspended Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals franchises. Shikhar Dhawan of Sunrisers Hyderabad will also get the same amount as Dhoni.

These 23 players' salaries had not been disclosed by the BCCI before Friday.

Apart from the the Royal Challengers, from whom Kohli and Chris Gayle will get more than the purse deduction, Mumbai Indians are also paying Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga and Ambati Rayudu more than the purse deduction.

Ambati Rayudu, who will be getting Rs 6 crore instead of the purse deduction of Rs 4 crore, was the top gainer in terms of percentage - 50 per cent. Harbhajan Singh, who will get Rs 8 crore instead of Rs 5.5 crore purse deduction, was second in terms of percentage followed by Kohli.

However, contrary to the general perception that quite a few players used to get paid more than the official purse deduction, actually some have taken big cuts.

Manan Vohra, retained by Kings XI Punjab, will get less than 10 per cent of his Rs 4 crore (30.5 lakh) purse deduction. Rohit Sharma, Gautam Gambhir and David Miller are also among those getting less than the purse deduction.

West Indies batsman Chris Gayle (Rs 7.5 crore vs Rs 8.4) and South African all-rounder Faf du Plessis (Rs 4 crore

vs Rs 4.75 crore) were the gainers among the international cricketers.

However, like Dhoni, South Africa's ODI captain AB de Villers (9.5 crore), Dhawan (12.5 crore), Ravichandran Ashwin (7.5 crore), West Indies' Dwayne Bravo (4 crore) too didn't see any change in their actual salaries vis-à-vis the amount deducted from the franchise's purse.

Each franchise is required to spend a minimum of Rs 40 crore, but not more than Rs 66 crore on their squad. However, when the franchise retains players, the purse-deduction slots are what are considered for the purpose of calculation of what it can and should spend.

In the case of former Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals players, though, the new franchises didn't have any room to negotiate.

The BCCI had assured the players left without teams but drafted by the two new teams that they would be paid the same amount as they were earning earlier.

So while Ravindra Jadeja might take away Rs 9.5 crore from Rajkot's purse, he will actually get only Rs 5.5 crore.

Four players who were recently bought by the Rajkot franchise, namely Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, New Zealand's Brendon McCullum and Australia's James Faulkner were among those who had a lower actual salary.

The New Zealand captain will be getting Rs 3.25 crore, while the franchise's purse deduction was Rs 7.5 crore.

Pune's Ajinkya Rahane and Steven Smith, too, were among those who would be paid less actual salary by their franchise.

WHO GETS HOW MUCH			
Player	Purse deduction (Rs)	Actual salary (Rs)	Comment
Rohit Sharma (MI)	12.5 cr	11.5 cr	Less
Kieron Pollard (MI)	9.5 cr	9.7 cr	More
Lasith Malinga (MI)	7.5 cr	8.1 cr	More
H. Singh (MI)	5.5 cr	8 cr	More
Ambati Rayudu (MI)	4 cr	6 cr	More
Virat Kohli (RCB)	12.5 cr	15 cr	More
AB de Villiers (RCB)	9.5 cr	9.5 cr	Same
Chris Gayle (RCB)	7.5 cr	8.4 cr	More
G.Gambhir (KKR)	12.5 cr	10 cr	Less
Sunil Narine (KKR)	9.5 cr	8 cr	Less
S. Dhawan (SRH)	12.5 cr	12.5 cr	Same
David Miller (KXIP)	12.5 cr	5 cr	Less
Manan Vora (KXIP)	4 cr	30.5 lakh	Less
MS Dhoni (Pune)	12.5 cr	12.5 cr	Same
Ajinkya Rahane (Pune)	9.5 cr	8 cr	Less
R. Ashwin (Pune)	7.5 cr	7.5 cr	Same
Steven Smith (Pune)	5.5 cr	4 cr	Less
Faf du Plessis (Pune)	4 cr	4.75 cr	More
Suresh Raina (Rajkot)	12.5 cr	9.5 cr	Less
R. Jadeja (Rajkot)	9.5 cr	5.5 cr	Less
B.McCullum (Rajkot)	7.5 cr	3.25 cr	Less
J. Faulkner (Rajkot)	5.5 cr	5.1 cr	Less
D. Bravo (Rajkot)	4 cr	4 cr	Same